Before reading further... Are you looking for great Linux hosting from a company that cares about GNU/Linux? Pick Dreamhost hosting, get a 10% bonus to the disk space (and support Free Software Magazine in the meantime!)

Dubious ads in Free Software Magazine

FSM Columnist: Trusted

Write a full post in response to this!


Hello Everybody,

This is an emergency post. I am writing it in Dubai. I am on my way to Rome and then London, only have 50 minutes left in my EeePC and no Dubai power adapter. The joys of travelling…

Some dubious ads have appeared in Free Software Magazine. I have received reports of a “virus scanner” (fake) with a malicious redirection. We currently use two ad networks, IDG and Adsense, and I don’t have any way to figure out which one is giving problems. In any case, having worked with both of them, I am 100% sure this is something that simply slipped the net.

Please let me know, by email or as a comment here (email input AT and then freesofwaremagazine.com) the URL you get redirected to. This is a crucial piece of information.

I won’t be able to investigate further for the next 24 hours. So… any help will be more welcome.

Thank you for your understanding and help!

Tony Mobily

Write a full post in response to this!

Similar articles

1

Do you like this post?
Vote for it!

Copyright information

This entry is (C) Copyright by its author, 2004-2008. Unless a different license is specified in the entry's body, the following license applies: "Verbatim copying and distribution of this entire article is permitted in any medium without royalty provided this notice is preserved and appropriate attribution information (author, original site, original URL) is included".

Biography

Tony Mobily: Tony is the founder and the Editor In Chief of Free Software Magazine

jordanshultz's picture

Tony - thank you so much for

Submitted by jordanshultz on Mon, 2008-05-26 02:11.

Vote!
1

Tony - thank you so much for your post. Adify's Customer Service team has identified the source of the virus scanner and stopped it. You should also have received email from us to you at the address you noted in your post.

Best, Jordan Shultz, Adify

admin's picture

OK!

Submitted by admin on Mon, 2008-05-26 20:30.

Vote!
1

Hi,

I've just landed... I can see that the issue is being addressed.

Thanks a lot!

Merc.

Ben Asselstine's picture

more dubious ads

Submitted by Ben Asselstine on Tue, 2008-05-27 12:07.

Vote!
0

I for one find the ads selling proprietary software on freesoftwaremagazine.com to be of dubious intent.

Ryan Cartwright's picture

take their money

Submitted by Ryan Cartwright on Tue, 2008-05-27 13:51.

Vote!
1

I’m not sure but I think I detect some irony in your comment. Anyway Tony has said he will only “write it once” so here’s his response to a previous comment on this subject.

I say that if a proprietary company is stupid enough to advertise to a bunch of people who are at least aware (or getting there) of the pitfalls of the licencing then they get what they pay for - nothing.

Smile nicely, take their money and run, I say.

admin's picture

I said I only wrote it once...

Submitted by admin on Wed, 2008-05-28 16:24.

Vote!
1

Hi,

I said I'd only write it once... so, I will keep my word.

Merc.